I told the moon

I told the moon to wait for me
as I packed my overnight bag
and set up camp underneath
a peaceful cinnamon tree

I told the moon to listen
to the stars singing our song
more than just twinkling
(at least for a moment)

I told the moon to ask
for one last chance to dance
with your midnight shadow
but she said I should do so
on my own

(and I did)

so I told the moon to work harder
at shining her light down on earth
because you and I had a date
to dance beneath moonbeam
and a thousand sparkling stars

~~~

written for napowrimo, “repetition”

© annie scribes 2017
all rights reserved

say something

