until there’s none

last night I had a chat with the moon
about the battles
we mortals fight

I asked her why
the victors seem to lead
a charmed life, even before
they step into the battlefield

and why the rest of us
don’t seem to stand a chance
(most of us fight with bare hands)

I asked her how long we must wait
and how much sacrifice
must be made
before we get what we need
(and maybe what we want)

the moon did not blink
but I thought I saw her smile
and I could have sworn I heard
her whisper,
remember
maybe it is not about winning
maybe it is about giving it all
in love
and in life,
till there’s nothing left to give

~~~

written for napowrimo day twenty-nine, inspired by the word “triumph”, from a poem “If” by Rudyard Kipling, and other things associated with the word

© annie scribes 2017
all rights reserved

say something

