drunk on you

I gulped more than sipped
poison offered in your golden goblet
last night

I felt your lips
all over me
(or maybe it was because
I was so drunk on you
I could not remember
wrapping my arms
around myself)

I laid my head on your chest
thought I heard a song
wafting out of your rib cage
(or was it your heartbeat
I’m not sure anymore)

and that’s how I mistook the sun
for the moon
and why I thought your sweet gaze
was for me

~~~

written for mayfalls 5/31, “tequila sunrise”
mayfalls is a Twitter poetry challenge hosted by @breath_words and @a_sea_of_words

© annie scribes 2017
all rights reserved

1 thought on “drunk on you”

say something

