keeping dreams to myself

I had trouble explaining to people
you were more than just my flights of fancy
they’d stare at me, stunned look on their faces
or maybe it was a gaze of pity
I told myself I would not waste
any more of my precious time
trying to walk them through my dream
when they stopped believing in theirs
a long time ago

~~~

written for mayfalls 17/31, “flights of fancy”
mayfalls is a Twitter poetry challenge hosted by @breath_words and @a_sea_of_words

© annie scribes 2017
all rights reserved

say something

