ode to the sea

I thought I’d found a quiet corner
where I could rest and watch the stars
falling for the moon. As night grew older,
and the breeze became colder, the sounds
got louder and the voices
were fading.

Warm waves lapped at my toes, and I realized
the sea may not be where I belonged,
though I’d sold him my soul
over and over.

I watched the waves roll and kiss the shore,
leaving marks in the sand, soon to be
washed away by new waves
that would come crashing. And I thought
there was something in my eye,
as I said goodbye, to the ocean full of
passion where I left my heart behind
to drown.

~~~

© annie scribes 2017
all rights reserved

4 thoughts on “ode to the sea”

say something

