only the wind

He gave me a strange look
when I walked into the room.
“Where are the words?” he asked,
staring past me as if I was hiding
something behind my back.

“Somewhere safe,” I replied,
frantically telling my heart
to stop racing.

With the tone of voice
I would never forget,
he accused me of concealing
letters and stories
and said I was not willing
to share the verses.

Before he walked away
I told him I deserved
to have pieces of rhyme
he left behind
since he robbed me of the melody
I had thought was mine.

Who was I kidding~
really,
I was only talking
to the wind.

~~~

© annie scribes 2017
all rights reserved

1 thought on “only the wind”

say something

