outside her mirror

the day started with rain, and I thought
I saw a familiar face at the corner shop
taking shelter from raindrops
wearing red bow on her hair and a twinkle
in her eyes

she spotted me and our eyes locked
as she reached deep into memory
trying to place me

she must have found the shelf
where the old me was buried
for she walked up to me
and whispered with soulful gaze
how she would always remember
the little girl she used to call a friend
outside the mirror she called home

~~~

For #OctPoWriMo Day 12, ‘imagination stands in the road’.

© annie scribes 2017
all rights reserved

8 thoughts on “outside her mirror”

say something

